at times, cannot initiate combat

A place to submit bugs to the Andor's Trail Development Team.
shirish
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 5:37 pm
android_version: 6.0

at times, cannot initiate combat

Post by shirish » Mon Sep 12, 2016 6:24 pm

At times, when you have opportunity to attack - you do it and then nothing happens.

You have to end turn and then in the next turn only you are able to get into combat.

This is on Samsung Galaxy J5, Android 6.0.1 - 0.7.1 game via fdroid
lvl 51, XP:2379731 AC - 197% BC - 176% Skills - CS (2) QL - (1) IF - (2) Regeneration - (2) FM - (2), one-handed shield proficiency (1) , Shield proficienty (1) , Fighting style : Weapon and shield (2) - Specialization : Weapon an shield (1)

thebeast
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 4:51 pm
android_version: 6.0

Re: at times, cannot initiate combat

Post by thebeast » Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:06 pm

Are you tapping the attack button or tapping on the screen? I've had it happen where I'll tap on the screen and can't attack but I can if I use the button. Also if you're having thw same problem I did restarting the game fixes it
Old veteran player from 2011. On my 13 character now lol. Hopefully this one lasts a bit longer :shock:
Lvl 45 HP: 111 AP: 12/3 AC: 333% AD: 34-51 BC: 96% DR: 6
skills: BS +2 CS +2 IF +2 REGEN +1 FS:DW +2 S:DW +1 OH SO +2 LAP+1 HAP +1
ROLS: 1

User avatar
Zukero
Lead Developer
Posts: 1401
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:56 am
android_version: 7.1

Re: at times, cannot initiate combat

Post by Zukero » Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:35 pm

You can check attack focus. Long press the enemy, if he turns reddish, it means he wasn't focused, and thus you can't attack. Otherwise, you may have an actor condition lowering your AP or increasing your attack cost. There's a known (and since corrected) bug that displays incorrect AP and attack cost, so you may have not noticed the actor condition's effect.
Lvl: 78, XP: 8622632, Gold: 271542, RoLS: 1, ElyR: -, RoL: -, ChaR: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1, SRoV: 1, VSH: 1, WMC: 1, GoW: 1
HP: 71, AC: 301%, AD: 38-47, AP: 3, ECC: 50%, CM: 3.75, BC: 101%, DR: 2

shirish
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 5:37 pm
android_version: 6.0

Re: at times, cannot initiate combat

Post by shirish » Tue Sep 13, 2016 8:02 pm

The attack focus is there, but have been tapping the screen i.e. the enemy, didn't know about the attack button, that works. Will initiate some more and see if that works.
lvl 51, XP:2379731 AC - 197% BC - 176% Skills - CS (2) QL - (1) IF - (2) Regeneration - (2) FM - (2), one-handed shield proficiency (1) , Shield proficienty (1) , Fighting style : Weapon and shield (2) - Specialization : Weapon an shield (1)

User avatar
Zukero
Lead Developer
Posts: 1401
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:56 am
android_version: 7.1

Re: at times, cannot initiate combat

Post by Zukero » Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:38 pm

You can tap anywhere to attack (normally), no need to tap on the enemy precisely.

Anyway, I'd like to know more about your issue. If you manage to reproduce it, could you give me detailed steps ?
Lvl: 78, XP: 8622632, Gold: 271542, RoLS: 1, ElyR: -, RoL: -, ChaR: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1, SRoV: 1, VSH: 1, WMC: 1, GoW: 1
HP: 71, AC: 301%, AD: 38-47, AP: 3, ECC: 50%, CM: 3.75, BC: 101%, DR: 2

shirish
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 5:37 pm
android_version: 6.0

Re: at times, cannot initiate combat

Post by shirish » Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:03 pm

It was reproduced quite a few times. I wish I could help you with debugging it . I do have adb and do have usb debugging turned on my phone.

Anyways, this happens randomly, what happens is the following -

a. I wait and surprise the enemy so I get the first strike.
b. there is no use, all of the above , i.e. just hitting on the screen, hitting on the enemy or hitting on the attack button, at times all three don't work and the only choice I have is end turn giving the advantage to my enemy again :(

It's only after his/her turn has finished that I'm able to counter-attack and hence lose the surprise advantage.
lvl 51, XP:2379731 AC - 197% BC - 176% Skills - CS (2) QL - (1) IF - (2) Regeneration - (2) FM - (2), one-handed shield proficiency (1) , Shield proficienty (1) , Fighting style : Weapon and shield (2) - Specialization : Weapon an shield (1)

Adventurer
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 8:03 pm
android_version: 4.2

Re: at times, cannot initiate combat

Post by Adventurer » Fri Sep 16, 2016 8:15 pm

Hi there.

I can consistently reproduce this issue with the following steps (version 0.7.0):
  • While getting attacked by an enemy during their turn, press the Back button and load a savegame.
  • At this point, you can no longer attack anyone (or flee) until you let an enemy finish one turn.
Hope that helps!

User avatar
Zukero
Lead Developer
Posts: 1401
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:56 am
android_version: 7.1

Re: at times, cannot initiate combat

Post by Zukero » Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:52 pm

Thanks. It really helps. I can't reproduce it with the dev version I have, so maybe I inadvertently fixed it in the meantime, but I'll take a look.
Lvl: 78, XP: 8622632, Gold: 271542, RoLS: 1, ElyR: -, RoL: -, ChaR: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1, SRoV: 1, VSH: 1, WMC: 1, GoW: 1
HP: 71, AC: 301%, AD: 38-47, AP: 3, ECC: 50%, CM: 3.75, BC: 101%, DR: 2

Adventurer
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 8:03 pm
android_version: 4.2

Re: at times, cannot initiate combat

Post by Adventurer » Fri Sep 16, 2016 10:44 pm

I have found another way:
  • Enter the attack confirmation dialog.
  • Rotate your phone. By the way, your enemy gets a free turn each time you rotate the phone (while the dialog is open).
  • Tap OK to proceed with the attack.
  • At this point, you will be rendered unable to attack or flee until the enemy finishes another turn.

shirish
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 5:37 pm
android_version: 6.0

Re: at times, cannot initiate combat

Post by shirish » Thu Sep 22, 2016 7:45 pm

Actually I found that way earlier hence have put the phone in only way, 'portrait' but still the issue happens now and then.

Btw I have developer options opened up and usb debugging is on and I do have adb on my linux system and can see the phone via gvfs as mounted under /run/user/1000/gvfs/mtp:somealphanumer-number/

Lemme know how I can help.
lvl 51, XP:2379731 AC - 197% BC - 176% Skills - CS (2) QL - (1) IF - (2) Regeneration - (2) FM - (2), one-handed shield proficiency (1) , Shield proficienty (1) , Fighting style : Weapon and shield (2) - Specialization : Weapon an shield (1)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests