v0.8.9 (Bugfixes + translations) released to Google Play!

Useful links
Source code of the game - Contribution guide - ATCS Editor - Translate the game on Weblate - Example walkthrough - Andor's Trail Directory - Join the Discord
Get the game (v0.8.9) from Google, F-Droid, our server, or itch.io

Dev environment questions - Slow emulator ?

Discussions of the development process of the game.
Zukero
Lead Developer
android_version: 8.0

Dev environment questions - Slow emulator ?

Post by Zukero »

Hello fellow ATers,

I'm starting to mess around with android SDK to better understand how AT runs. I'll be using the Eclipse ADT bundle provided by google rather than Android Studio, as I have a lot of experience with Eclipse.

I just managed to start AT in debug mode in the emulator for the first time, as described in the wiki page, but I won't do it again this way : 30 min to boot the emulator, 15 min to upload and install AT apk, and a whooping 8 hours to finish the initial "loading resources" for a new game.... plus everything is very slow (more than 10 seconds between clicking to move and to opening of Mikhail's dialog).

I then started using intel's x86 system-image, without HAXM (not allowed to install it on that comp), and it was amazingly faster ! From emulator start (using snapshot) to AT game started in debugger : 35 mins.
Less than 5 minutes for a normal, non-debugger-attached start.

So I was wondering what you guys use to run the test/debug builds of AT ? Your device(s), x86 emulator with/without HAXM/KVM, the standard ARM emulator, another third-party android emulator ?
Wouldn't it be worth updating the wiki page to include some info on that point ?
Lvl: 78, XP: 8622632, Gold: 271542, RoLS: 1, ElyR: -, RoL: -, ChaR: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1, SRoV: 1, VSH: 1, WMC: 1, GoW: 1
HP: 71, AC: 301%, AD: 38-47, AP: 3, ECC: 50%, CM: 3.75, BC: 101%, DR: 2
cccd3cpt
android_version: 4.2

Re: Dev environment questions - Slow emulator ?

Post by cccd3cpt »