Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Discussions of the development process of the game.
User avatar
Zukero
Lead Developer
Posts: 1328
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:56 am
android_version: 7.1

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by Zukero » Mon Apr 03, 2017 4:28 pm

v0.5.3 released!

Nothing extraordinary, mainly bug fixes:
- Using the "Active in a new game" check box for a spawn area on a map had the wrong effect (marked the Object group as inactive, instead of the spawn area).
- Fixed windows installer, so that old libs are deleted before installing. This issue caused some trouble for updates, because the new startup script generated conflicts between all installed versions.
- More user-friendly way to clear an actor condition. You used to have to set the magnitude to -99 (how would you find this out?), now a simple radio button helps you do it.
Lvl: 78, XP: 8622632, Gold: 271542, RoLS: 1, ElyR: -, RoL: -, ChaR: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1, SRoV: 1, VSH: 1, WMC: 1, GoW: 1
HP: 71, AC: 301%, AD: 38-47, AP: 3, ECC: 50%, CM: 3.75, BC: 101%, DR: 2

User avatar
rijackson741
Posts: 1379
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 2:04 am
android_version: 6.0
Location: Somewhere in Dhayavar

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by rijackson741 » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:38 pm

Zukero wrote:
Mon Apr 03, 2017 4:28 pm
- More user-friendly way to clear an actor condition. You used to have to set the magnitude to -99 (how would you find this out?), now a simple radio button helps you do it.
Figuring out what to do wasn't hard; just look at an existing potion. You couldn't actually set the magnitude to -99 in ATCS though, you had to edit the JSON by hand. So this will be a good addition :)
Level: 64, XP: 4734786, HP: 196, AC: 246%, AD: 49-59, AP: 3, ECC: 25%, CM: 3, BC: 127%, DR: 2
Gold: 232355 | RoLS: 1, RoL: 1, GoW: 1
HH: 1, CS: 2, IF: 4, Ev: 3, Re: 2, WP:DA: 1, WP:1S: 1, AP:L: 1, FS:DW: 2, S:DW: 1
SR

User avatar
Zukero
Lead Developer
Posts: 1328
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:56 am
android_version: 7.1

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by Zukero » Mon Apr 03, 2017 8:25 pm

Sure, it's easy enough when you're Jackson-clever TM. :lol: :ugeek:
Lvl: 78, XP: 8622632, Gold: 271542, RoLS: 1, ElyR: -, RoL: -, ChaR: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1, SRoV: 1, VSH: 1, WMC: 1, GoW: 1
HP: 71, AC: 301%, AD: 38-47, AP: 3, ECC: 50%, CM: 3.75, BC: 101%, DR: 2

User avatar
Zukero
Lead Developer
Posts: 1328
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:56 am
android_version: 7.1

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by Zukero » Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:48 am

Updated the roadmap in opening post to add plans for Git and Weblate integration in ATCS, and mark mostly discarded ideas as mostly discarded :D
Lvl: 78, XP: 8622632, Gold: 271542, RoLS: 1, ElyR: -, RoL: -, ChaR: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1, SRoV: 1, VSH: 1, WMC: 1, GoW: 1
HP: 71, AC: 301%, AD: 38-47, AP: 3, ECC: 50%, CM: 3.75, BC: 101%, DR: 2

User avatar
Zukero
Lead Developer
Posts: 1328
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:56 am
android_version: 7.1

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by Zukero » Fri Apr 07, 2017 10:15 am

v0.5.4 released!

Among the various bug fixes are three new features:
- When an object has unsaved data, all its parents will be marked with the * prefix. That means that even if all your project is collapsed in the project tree, the project will show the asterisk, and the relevant sub-folders will also show it, so that you can quickly find the modified elements.
- When there's unsaved data in your workspace, ATCS will ask you to confirm exit, warning you that all unsaved data will be discarded. You can then cancel the exit.
- Last but not least, when you start modifying an object's ID (which is generally discouraged), a pop-up will show you what ATCS will do to related objects. These are the ones you can see in the "Elements linking to this one" list at the bottom. I call these backlinks. If a backlink is under "created" or "altered", it will be marked as modified (needing to be saved). If it is already marked as modified, it won't appear in the impacted objects list. If a backlink is under "source", and has no "altered" counterpart, it will be altered (a writable copy will be created under "altered", just like when you use the "Alter" button).

I would advise you to think twice before modifying an object's ID. It is generally OK to do so when it is an object you created in this project. However, if you modify a source object's ID, you'll have to manually delete the old one in AT's JSON files.

If your desire is to simply "clone" a game source object, but with a different ID, your best bet is to copy the content of the JSON tab of the editor for that object, create a new one by using the "Import JSON data" menu option, paste the JSON text, and manually modify the ID before pressing "Next".
Lvl: 78, XP: 8622632, Gold: 271542, RoLS: 1, ElyR: -, RoL: -, ChaR: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1, SRoV: 1, VSH: 1, WMC: 1, GoW: 1
HP: 71, AC: 301%, AD: 38-47, AP: 3, ECC: 50%, CM: 3.75, BC: 101%, DR: 2

User avatar
rijackson741
Posts: 1379
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 2:04 am
android_version: 6.0
Location: Somewhere in Dhayavar

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by rijackson741 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 11:23 am

Actually, a "clone object" entry in the right click menu would be rather handy. It could pop up a dialogue similar to the existing "Create Game Data Element (JSON)" dialogue, where you can enter a new ID.
Level: 64, XP: 4734786, HP: 196, AC: 246%, AD: 49-59, AP: 3, ECC: 25%, CM: 3, BC: 127%, DR: 2
Gold: 232355 | RoLS: 1, RoL: 1, GoW: 1
HH: 1, CS: 2, IF: 4, Ev: 3, Re: 2, WP:DA: 1, WP:1S: 1, AP:L: 1, FS:DW: 2, S:DW: 1
SR

User avatar
Zukero
Lead Developer
Posts: 1328
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:56 am
android_version: 7.1

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by Zukero » Fri Apr 07, 2017 11:36 am

Sure. Ask, and you shall receive... later.
:lol:
Lvl: 78, XP: 8622632, Gold: 271542, RoLS: 1, ElyR: -, RoL: -, ChaR: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1, SRoV: 1, VSH: 1, WMC: 1, GoW: 1
HP: 71, AC: 301%, AD: 38-47, AP: 3, ECC: 50%, CM: 3.75, BC: 101%, DR: 2

User avatar
rijackson741
Posts: 1379
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 2:04 am
android_version: 6.0
Location: Somewhere in Dhayavar

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by rijackson741 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 11:53 am

8-)
Maybe restrict it a bit though. I can see a use for cloning actor conditions, items, NPCs, and maybe droplists. I don't see much need to ever clone dialogues or quests though, and cloning maps would be a bad idea. We don't want maps that are almost identical to another map.
Level: 64, XP: 4734786, HP: 196, AC: 246%, AD: 49-59, AP: 3, ECC: 25%, CM: 3, BC: 127%, DR: 2
Gold: 232355 | RoLS: 1, RoL: 1, GoW: 1
HH: 1, CS: 2, IF: 4, Ev: 3, Re: 2, WP:DA: 1, WP:1S: 1, AP:L: 1, FS:DW: 2, S:DW: 1
SR

User avatar
Zukero
Lead Developer
Posts: 1328
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:56 am
android_version: 7.1

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by Zukero » Fri Apr 07, 2017 12:06 pm

It'll be harder to restrict, and I can't find a legitimate reason to. Dialogues with a complex structure (large selectors) are interesting to clone. Quests aren't, but there's nothing evil in doing it either.
Maps are already created by cloning. In general we clone template.tmx, but we have the choice to use any existing map as a template IIRC.
For spritesheets it's definitely useless.
It's gonna be limited to json data.
Lvl: 78, XP: 8622632, Gold: 271542, RoLS: 1, ElyR: -, RoL: -, ChaR: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1, SRoV: 1, VSH: 1, WMC: 1, GoW: 1
HP: 71, AC: 301%, AD: 38-47, AP: 3, ECC: 50%, CM: 3.75, BC: 101%, DR: 2

User avatar
rijackson741
Posts: 1379
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 2:04 am
android_version: 6.0
Location: Somewhere in Dhayavar

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by rijackson741 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 12:21 pm

Fair enough. Content can be cloned anyway, by copying the JSON or XML and using a text editor to make minor changes. So it's not worth any significant amount of work to stop someone from doing it in ATCS.
Level: 64, XP: 4734786, HP: 196, AC: 246%, AD: 49-59, AP: 3, ECC: 25%, CM: 3, BC: 127%, DR: 2
Gold: 232355 | RoLS: 1, RoL: 1, GoW: 1
HH: 1, CS: 2, IF: 4, Ev: 3, Re: 2, WP:DA: 1, WP:1S: 1, AP:L: 1, FS:DW: 2, S:DW: 1
SR

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest