activation tile

Discussions of the development process of the game.
User avatar
PK17
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:33 pm
android_version: 4.0

Re: activation tile

Post by PK17 » Sat Jul 27, 2013 4:10 pm

Pyrizzle wrote:This is definitely something that i would love to see in the game.

Being able to change the world around you in slight ways would help to bring Andor's World to life.
It would be cool If we would have the obtain a shovel to remove a tree stump in the way, or a pickaxe to remove some rocks..... or some flint so Pyro can remove some pesky trees.
Take a stop by my game thread for some forum fun!!!

http://andorstrail.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4577

Tomcat
VIP
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 7:05 am
android_version: 7.0

Re: activation tile

Post by Tomcat » Sat Jul 27, 2013 8:29 pm

PK17 wrote:
Pyrizzle wrote:This is definitely something that i would love to see in the game.

Being able to change the world around you in slight ways would help to bring Andor's World to life.
It would be cool If we would have the obtain a shovel to remove a tree stump in the way, or a pickaxe to remove some rocks..... or some flint so Pyro can remove some pesky trees.
That could make it very difficult for map makers to account for everywhere the player might go, and for quest writers to preserve story lines and such.
Norbert
Lvl:52 XP:2597576 AP:12 HP:124 AC:282 AD:30-42 CHS:27 CM:2.0 ECC:18% BC:132 DR:2
Skills: CS:2 IF:2 Ev:3 Rg:1 DgPro:1 1HPro:2 LtAPro:2 FS-DW:2 Sp-DW:1
Equip: FP BSS JoF RoP PRoB SrpHbk GoLF EnhCH EnhCB
Other: DotSP VD GoW FB TG RoD+6 Oegyth:6

User avatar
sorrow
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:32 pm
android_version: 2.3 - Gingerbread
Location: the land of the devil dogs

Re: activation tile

Post by sorrow » Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:33 pm

This idea could make getting to lodar a big pain in the butt. Think about this as ur traveling the green maze you here a click and a fire ball comes out of no where and does xx damage. Seems the maze has boobie traps

Sorrow
Lvl:80 XP:9214038 Gold:1mil Hp:243 AC:301 Ad:28-49 Ch:21 Cm:2.0 Ecc:15 BC:148 Dr:3

skills:
WA:2. HH:2. CS:2. TH:2 QL:2 IF:2 REG:2 MF:5 DBS:1 2HSP:1 LAP:2 HAP:1 SREG:1
L/E
CHAR:1 ROLS:1 ELYR:1 GOLF:1 SHAF: 1

Thystonius
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 11:49 am
android_version: 2.3 - Gingerbread
Location: Netherlands (ikbendebob {at} yahoo {dot} com)
Contact:

Re: activation tile

Post by Thystonius » Sun Jul 28, 2013 11:26 am

Tomcat wrote:
PK17 wrote:
Pyrizzle wrote:This is definitely something that i would love to see in the game.

Being able to change the world around you in slight ways would help to bring Andor's World to life.
It would be cool If we would have the obtain a shovel to remove a tree stump in the way, or a pickaxe to remove some rocks..... or some flint so Pyro can remove some pesky trees.
That could make it very difficult for map makers to account for everywhere the player might go, and for quest writers to preserve story lines and such.
Nah, an axe to cut down trees should only work on certain type of trees or bushes, like in many other RPG's (in Epic Battle Fantasy 5 for example, on Kongregate, you need to find an axe to cut trees, a hammer to smash rocks, a ladder to cross gaps in bridges, special boots to walk over waterplant trails, like these things). You can just place such a bush, or rockpile, or whatever blockade on a pathway you want to be available to players who managed to get this item. A nice way to block too hard areas, or make shortcuts available after you've done a long trip like the green maze.
Lvl 74|XP 7,280,442|€ 364,324|2013.08.27
HP 229|AC 238%|AD 46-55|AP 3|ECC 25%|CM 3.0|BC 140%|DR 10|SR
RoLS 2|ElyR 1|RoL 0|ChaR 0|GoLF 1|ShaF 1|SRoV 0|VSH 0|WMC 0|GoW 0
WA 1|HH 1|Clv 1|BS 5|CS 2|CE 1|IF 5|Reg 1|DPS 1|DP 1|SP 2|LAP 1

Tomcat
VIP
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 7:05 am
android_version: 7.0

Re: activation tile

Post by Tomcat » Sun Jul 28, 2013 2:14 pm

Thystonius wrote:
Tomcat wrote:
PK17 wrote:
It would be cool If we would have the obtain a shovel to remove a tree stump in the way, or a pickaxe to remove some rocks..... or some flint so Pyro can remove some pesky trees.
That could make it very difficult for map makers to account for everywhere the player might go, and for quest writers to preserve story lines and such.
Nah, an axe to cut down trees should only work on certain type of trees or bushes, like in many other RPG's (in Epic Battle Fantasy 5 for example, on Kongregate, you need to find an axe to cut trees, a hammer to smash rocks, a ladder to cross gaps in bridges, special boots to walk over waterplant trails, like these things). You can just place such a bush, or rockpile, or whatever blockade on a pathway you want to be available to players who managed to get this item. A nice way to block too hard areas, or make shortcuts available after you've done a long trip like the green maze.
And then every single tree you place, you have to consider what would happen if it was cut down...how to keep the undesired path blocked, etc.
Or if you make a certain kind of tree uncuttable, that's the only kind of tree you'll see used in the future, to avoid problems.
Norbert
Lvl:52 XP:2597576 AP:12 HP:124 AC:282 AD:30-42 CHS:27 CM:2.0 ECC:18% BC:132 DR:2
Skills: CS:2 IF:2 Ev:3 Rg:1 DgPro:1 1HPro:2 LtAPro:2 FS-DW:2 Sp-DW:1
Equip: FP BSS JoF RoP PRoB SrpHbk GoLF EnhCH EnhCB
Other: DotSP VD GoW FB TG RoD+6 Oegyth:6

User avatar
sorrow
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:32 pm
android_version: 2.3 - Gingerbread
Location: the land of the devil dogs

Re: activation tile

Post by sorrow » Sun Jul 28, 2013 4:32 pm

Use ditches and pools to block paths.

Sorrow
Lvl:80 XP:9214038 Gold:1mil Hp:243 AC:301 Ad:28-49 Ch:21 Cm:2.0 Ecc:15 BC:148 Dr:3

skills:
WA:2. HH:2. CS:2. TH:2 QL:2 IF:2 REG:2 MF:5 DBS:1 2HSP:1 LAP:2 HAP:1 SREG:1
L/E
CHAR:1 ROLS:1 ELYR:1 GOLF:1 SHAF: 1

Tomcat
VIP
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 7:05 am
android_version: 7.0

Re: activation tile

Post by Tomcat » Sun Jul 28, 2013 7:51 pm

sorrow wrote:Use ditches and pools to block paths.
Way too limiting. And would require completely recalling the existing maps.
Norbert
Lvl:52 XP:2597576 AP:12 HP:124 AC:282 AD:30-42 CHS:27 CM:2.0 ECC:18% BC:132 DR:2
Skills: CS:2 IF:2 Ev:3 Rg:1 DgPro:1 1HPro:2 LtAPro:2 FS-DW:2 Sp-DW:1
Equip: FP BSS JoF RoP PRoB SrpHbk GoLF EnhCH EnhCB
Other: DotSP VD GoW FB TG RoD+6 Oegyth:6

User avatar
sorrow
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:32 pm
android_version: 2.3 - Gingerbread
Location: the land of the devil dogs

Re: activation tile

Post by sorrow » Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:24 pm

Hmmm. Well ill let u guys figure that out. But if it becomes possible to dig/chop stuff what would the player get? Would the player get new skills such as lumberjack which would increase the amount of wood you receive after cutting down a tree? And mining which would increase ore count received from mining?

Sorrow
Lvl:80 XP:9214038 Gold:1mil Hp:243 AC:301 Ad:28-49 Ch:21 Cm:2.0 Ecc:15 BC:148 Dr:3

skills:
WA:2. HH:2. CS:2. TH:2 QL:2 IF:2 REG:2 MF:5 DBS:1 2HSP:1 LAP:2 HAP:1 SREG:1
L/E
CHAR:1 ROLS:1 ELYR:1 GOLF:1 SHAF: 1

Pyrizzle
VIP
Posts: 6436
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 1:00 am
android_version: 6.0 - Marshmallow
Location: Fire Nation HQ

Re: activation tile

Post by Pyrizzle » Sun Jul 28, 2013 11:54 pm

Suggestion:

How about a machete that you can use to cut to light bushes (Specific ones) and if you try to use it one something else (Like a tree) you would get a pop up message "As you swing your machete and try to clear the path the trees and vines seems to be fighting back and rebuilding. This is too thick for me to get thru"

Thy: +1 for the idea of using something like this to block off areas that low level players shouldn't wonder into yet.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Player Name:Pyro
Lvl:24XP:244KAP:2/10HP:80AC: 189%AD:13-21CHS:-6CM: 0BC: 20%DR:2
IF:2Reg:2FSDW:1

May Elythara bless you and light your path!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

oskarwiksten
Captain Awesome
Posts: 368
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 8:51 am
android_version: 2.3 - Gingerbread
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: activation tile

Post by oskarwiksten » Thu Aug 08, 2013 7:29 pm

Ian wrote:What do you think about an activation tile: If you step on it, it triggers and changes the map.
This would be useful for letting a tunnel collapse, spawning suddenly monsters, landslides(I'm trying to bring Sarumar's idea in the game), having a passageway opened or it gives and actorcondition to the player(lava and swamp tiles hurt the player.)
Awesome idea, Ian!

I've been wanting to do scripted areas for quite a while now. I guess today is as good a day as any to do it :)

For v0.7.1 I'm aiming for us having the ability to do scripted areas, where we can do gui-less scripts sort of like the conversation-scripts that we have today, but just without the gui part. My thought is that we could create areas that execute the ordinary script logic that we already have in place, and make that trigger when the player enters some area specified by the TMX file. When executing a script area, the game could do that without showing the regular conversation gui, and do the regular rewards based on the conditions we have in place already.

I'm also thinking that we could make those gui-less scripts could run quite often, unless they are expensive - computationally speaking. For example, a script area that executes every round, or every tick (500ms) could lead to very interesting possibilities. Showing conversations as soon as you've killed that monster, for example! OMG, we've been wanting to do that for so long now.

With something like this, we could do areas that give you an actor condition based on whether you are wearing a certain item or not. We could do areas that cause monsters to become aggressive. We could do areas that only trigger a quest when the player is wearing a certain item (quest helm of searching?). Lots of neat possibilities. It would also mean that any expansion of our current script system would be applicable to map areas as well.

Good ideas, Ian! We'll have some really nice things in place for creating good quests in v0.7.1!
/Oskar

Post Reply