v0.8.9 (Bugfixes + translations) released to Google Play!

Useful links
Source code of the game - Contribution guide - ATCS Editor - Translate the game on Weblate - Example walkthrough - Andor's Trail Directory - Join the Discord
Get the game (v0.8.9) from Google, F-Droid, our server, or itch.io

Russian translate and *.po files

Discussions of the development process of the game.
bars_12
android_version: 2.3 - Gingerbread

Russian translate and *.po files

Post by bars_12 »

Hi Guys!
Explain me plase - are you using for locaisation the files or not? I have a file for al versions with all tanslated words but I have not found class Resoursebundle.

And I hve only file strings.xml on russian. It is works. But anther things - for example names of monsters on English. If we do not using this technology (with files *.po), than why it is in store. If using, then where and why it is do not work on my russion version of android?

I am new in android developing but the expirience with java not small.
oskarwiksten
Captain Awesome

Re: Russian translate and *.po files

Post by oskarwiksten »

Hi bars_12,

great to hear from a Russian player! Looking at the stats that Google Play gives us, we have a lot of people playing from Russia, so the Russian translation is an important part for a large portion of our players.

The localization in v0.7.0 works by using both the strings.xml file and the *.po files. Or actually, the game really reads *.mo files, and not *.po files. The .mo files contain the same things as .po files, but in a binary format. You can convert back and forth between mo and po with the usual gnu textutils. There's even a bash script that we supply, that you can use to automatically create your mo files:
https://github.com/oskarwiksten/andors- ... reateMo.sh

We do not use ResourseBundle. We have a custom binary .mo parser.

The file strings.xml has a specific entry named "localize_resources_from_mo_filename", that tells the game which .mo translation file to use: