Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Discussions of the development process of the game.
Post Reply
User avatar
Zukero
Lead Developer
Posts: 1735
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:56 am
android_version: 8.0

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by Zukero » Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:33 pm

To edit the graphical part of a Map, you should used Tiled, available from http://mapeditor.org

If you are using windows, I'd recommend also running ATCS as Administrator once.
The idea behind this is to make sure that there are symbolic links (also called directory junctions, and look like typical shortcuts) called "drawable" under "C:\<ATCS Workspace Folder>\<Project Name>\created" and "C:\<ATCS Workspace Folder>\<Project Name>\altered" (replace C: by D: or other if necessary).
Then, going into "C:\<ATCS Workspace Folder>\<Project Name>\created\drawable" should land you in a folder containing A LOT of images. These are part of the AT Source Code. DO NOT EDIT OR DELETE THEM.

Once this is done, and you have Tiled installed, find the TMX Map you want to edit, and press the "Alter" button to create a modifiable copy of it. This should automatically close the original one and open the "altered" one in ATCS.
Then, press the large Tiled logo button (big blue T in tetris style) at the top left of the TMX Map editor in ATCS. This should open this map in Tiled.
Modify it to your liking, and save it. The "Reload" button in ATCS should become active, click it, and you should see the changes you made in Tiled reflected in ATCS.

In case the "Tiled" button in ATCS fails to start Tiled, use the "File->Edit workspace settings" menu in ATCS, and enter a custom command to run Tiled, by using the full path to tiled.exe, and put it between double quotes. For example: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Tiled\tiled.exe"

Good luck.
Lvl: 78, XP: 8622632, Gold: 271542, RoLS: 1, ElyR: -, RoL: -, ChaR: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1, SRoV: 1, VSH: 1, WMC: 1, GoW: 1
HP: 71, AC: 301%, AD: 38-47, AP: 3, ECC: 50%, CM: 3.75, BC: 101%, DR: 2

User avatar
Nut
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 12:14 pm
android_version: 5.1 - Lolipop
Location: Glade

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by Nut » Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:54 pm

Normally a tree is seperated: the lower part in Object, the upper part in Above, and the lower part marked in Walkable as blocked.
But it could be done another way too.

Trees are cumbersome. There exist a combi tile for woods, but I myself don't like it.
Nut
_____
Nut: Lvl 61, HP 103, AC 273%, AD 32-41, CHS 67, BC 159% WA 3, Do 5, BS MC 1, CS 2, IF 1, Reg 1, WP 1, S 1, AP L 1, RoLS
Anwyn: Lvl 52, HP 126, AC 221%, AD 28-36, CHS 27, BC 119% Do 4, CS 2, IF 3, Ev 2, Reg 1, Ta 1, RoLS

Raphi
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:19 pm
android_version: 6.0 - Marshmallow

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by Raphi » Fri Mar 30, 2018 1:33 pm

I heard about mapeditor.org already, but the https page don't work :roll:
Opened the page in http now, hopefully it works :)
Hey there! I'm using Telegram! ;)

User avatar
rijackson741
Posts: 2170
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 2:04 am
android_version: 9.0 - Pie
Location: Somewhere in Dhayavar

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by rijackson741 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 1:48 pm

Yes, you are right. I see the same problem.
Level: 64, XP: 4734786, HP: 196, AC: 246%, AD: 49-59, AP: 3, ECC: 25%, CM: 3, BC: 127%, DR: 2
Gold: 232355 | RoLS: 1, RoL: 1, GoW: 1
HH: 1, CS: 2, IF: 4, Ev: 3, Re: 2, WP:DA: 1, WP:1S: 1, AP:L: 1, FS:DW: 2, S:DW: 1
SR

Raphi
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:19 pm
android_version: 6.0 - Marshmallow

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by Raphi » Fri Mar 30, 2018 3:14 pm

Wow, Tiled is awesome! Thank you, Zuke and Nut!
Hey there! I'm using Telegram! ;)

User avatar
Zukero
Lead Developer
Posts: 1735
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:56 am
android_version: 8.0

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by Zukero » Fri Mar 30, 2018 3:21 pm

Fixed the link. I'm baffled some websites still fail to offer https.
Lvl: 78, XP: 8622632, Gold: 271542, RoLS: 1, ElyR: -, RoL: -, ChaR: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1, SRoV: 1, VSH: 1, WMC: 1, GoW: 1
HP: 71, AC: 301%, AD: 38-47, AP: 3, ECC: 50%, CM: 3.75, BC: 101%, DR: 2

Raphi
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:19 pm
android_version: 6.0 - Marshmallow

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by Raphi » Fri Mar 30, 2018 4:07 pm

The "Reload" button doesn't become active. What should i do?
Hey there! I'm using Telegram! ;)

User avatar
Zukero
Lead Developer
Posts: 1735
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:56 am
android_version: 8.0

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by Zukero » Fri Mar 30, 2018 4:45 pm

Did you launch Tiled from ATCS?
Did you use the "Save" function of Tiled (Ctrl+S or File->Save) as opposed "Save As... "

If the answer is yes to both, could you check that there is an ATCS env.bat file in the ATCS install folder?
If so, edit it (you'll most likely have to run notepad as administrator, then open the file to be allowed to edit it) and replace

Code: Select all

 REM set "JAVA=javaw.exe" 
by

Code: Select all

 set "JAVA=java.exe" 
.
Save and restart ATCS. Reproduce the steps of the issue:
Open the map
Use the Tiled button
Modify the map in Tiled
Save in Tiled
Check out the reload button in ATCS.
Take a look at the "command prompt" console that was opened with ATCS, and copy its contents here.

I'd also need to know your OS, and if you can, the output of the following command once executed in "cmd.exe":

Code: Select all

java -version
Lvl: 78, XP: 8622632, Gold: 271542, RoLS: 1, ElyR: -, RoL: -, ChaR: 1, GoLF: 1, ShaF: 1, SRoV: 1, VSH: 1, WMC: 1, GoW: 1
HP: 71, AC: 301%, AD: 38-47, AP: 3, ECC: 50%, CM: 3.75, BC: 101%, DR: 2

Raphi
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:19 pm
android_version: 6.0 - Marshmallow

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by Raphi » Fri Mar 30, 2018 5:05 pm

I can't find the env.bat file. Do I have to create a .txt file or sth. like that?
Hey there! I'm using Telegram! ;)

User avatar
rijackson741
Posts: 2170
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 2:04 am
android_version: 9.0 - Pie
Location: Somewhere in Dhayavar

Re: Andor's Trail Content Studio [ATCS] - Win/Mac/Linux Content Editor

Post by rijackson741 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:03 pm

Look in C:\Program Files (x86)\ATCS
Level: 64, XP: 4734786, HP: 196, AC: 246%, AD: 49-59, AP: 3, ECC: 25%, CM: 3, BC: 127%, DR: 2
Gold: 232355 | RoLS: 1, RoL: 1, GoW: 1
HH: 1, CS: 2, IF: 4, Ev: 3, Re: 2, WP:DA: 1, WP:1S: 1, AP:L: 1, FS:DW: 2, S:DW: 1
SR

Post Reply