First Impressions

A place for general discussion about the content and gameplay of Andor's Trail.
Ullen
android_version: 4.0

First Impressions

Post by Ullen »

Hi, newbie here.

I downloaded the game about a week ago and played it on and off. My first impression is it is too hard. By that I mean the power of my character is too weak compared to monsters.

My character is level 5 and his biggest accomplishment so far is defeating a strong rat and reclaiming a cave. The thing is he wanders out to the wilderness, kill a couple of wasps, and gets damaged enough to run back home and sleep. He has a tough time with foxes and gets killed by wolves.

The consequence of this is I spend most of the time trying to keep my character alive instead of completing quests. My character still needs to find a poison gland, let alone a house with bones. The game becomes highly repetitive, therefore boring.

I am not sure if it's me (I did spend several hundred gold pieces on equipment, that's how my character got to beat a tough rat) or the game is not geared towards players like me.
Necrite
android_version: 4.1 - Jellybean

Re: First Impressions

Post by Necrite »

What did you spend your level ups and Skill Point on? Also, what equipment did you buy? Depending on your answers to these questions, the early parts of the game can be extremely difficult, or trivially easy.

A couple suggestions, should you decide to start over:
-Go step on the basket behind Mikhail in the starting house. You'll get 12 extra gold.
-Talk to Gruil (the guy in the blue robe in the tavern) and sell Mikhail's ring for 108 gold, buy a Crude Combat Ring for 50, go sleep in the bed on the other side of the room to reset the store, go back to Gruil and buy another Crude Combat Ring. Equipping both CCRs gives the same AC, plus an extra 0-2 Damage. With the club, you now do 1-4 damage, and often kill a 5hp enemy in one round.